The Young Investigator Award (YIA) committee is our pleased to announce

Dr. Muhammad Zeeshan as the winner of YIA 2018 award.








Dr. Zeeshan is a 2016 graduate of King Edward Medical University. Currently he is a Research Fellow at Division of Trauma, Acute Care Surgery, and Burns at the University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.

He has 30 publications in prestigious peer reviewed medical journals including Journal of American College of Surgery and Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery. One third of those are as first author, and in others he has significant contributions.

Dr. Zeeshan has also authored a book Chapter: Zeeshan, M., Joseph B (auth.), Latifi R (eds.); “A Minute Man” Operating Room- Managing the Chaos Using Technologies.

Zeeshan will be starting his General Surgery Residency at Westchester Medical Center, NY in July 2019. KEMCAANA Congratulates DR.  Zeeshan for winning this year YIA award and as well starting his career in clinical surgery in USA.

Dr. Zeeshan will be awarded a plaque of recognition and cash prize of $1000 at the Annual summer meeting of KEMCAANA.

The award Committee also wishes to recognize excellent submissions from the following contestants:

Dr. Danish Bhatti KE 2004
Dr. Naseer Khan KE 2005
Dr. Maryam Arshad KE 2011
Dr. Pir Mohammad Shah KE 2018

The Young Investigator Award was initiated by KEMCAANA in 2009 to encourage and reward academic and scientific excellence by young Kemcolians practicing in North America.  The selection of the best among the contestants is based on Authorship, Originality, Study design, Objectives/Hypothesis, Quality of results, Significance, Impact and Merit scores. Winner is selected who achieves the highest aggregate scores by all judges.


Tahsin Masud, MD

Rehan Qayyum, MD MHS

Committee Members

Nabeel Khan MD
Ahsun Riaz, MD
Shehzad Sheikh, MD PhD
Naheed Usmani, MD
Muhammad Aftab, MD, FACS